Users of Facebook Inc’s WhatsApp said that it will soon let users send disappearing photos and videos and starting from this week this feature will be available to all users.
Anyone using WhatsApp messaging app will be able to share a photo or video in “view once” mode, making messages, photos, and videos disappear after one viewing.
Facebook said in its blog post on Tuesday Media shared with “view once” selected will show up as opened after the intended audience has seen the content.
Users must select view once media each time they want to send a view once photo or video. Photos and videos send with the “View Once” mode will not be saved in Gallary or Photos. If the receiver of the message doesn’t open the photo or video within 14 days of it being sent, the media will expire from the chat.
The company added that the new feature could be helpful for a number of needs like sharing a photo of some clothes you tried on or sending your wifi password to someone. Because this feature does not prevents someone from taking a screenshot of your message or start recording the screen. The sender will not be notified if someone takes the screenshot of the message or turns on the screen recording.